MiTAC Precision Technology Corporation
Sustainability > Conflict Minerals
Carbon Footprint Conflict Minerals CSR R&D
What is the sustainable development of MPT? Reuse, Green Material…

MPT Statement against Use of “Conflict Minerals”

MPT has always respected international human rights and continuously practiced the idea of being a world citizen.  In response to Bill H.R. 4173 Dodd-Franck Act signed by U.S. President Obama in July 2010, MPT specifically states its prohibition against the use of Conflict Minerals.

MPT Statement :

  1. Although MPT does not directly purchase metal raw materials, we strongly express that we do not support and do not use any metal mineral such as cobalt (Co), stannum (Sn), palladium (Pd), tantalum (Ta), wolfram (W) or gold (Au) extracted from mining fields with armed conflict, illegal exploitation, or shoddy work environment in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and its neighboring countries.

  2. In order to avoid the use of metal from illegal exploitation among raw materials and during the production process, MPT requires suppliers to refuse the use of any “Conflict Minerals” from conflict areas and to verify the source of the mineral.  It also requires suppliers to communicate this requirement to its upstream suppliers to fulfill the responsibilities of enterprise citizens together.

Note 1: One article in the bill of the Dodd-Frank Act requires the Securities Exchange Commission to stipulate that any person trading or using any conflict mineral duly trace the source of the mineral, including Coltan, Cassiterite, Gold and Wolframite.

Note 2: “Conflict Mineral” – certain metal minerals that have become the major financial source for organizations of armed insurrection in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and its neighboring countries to serve the purpose of arms trafficking, extending bloody conflicts with their government, ravaging local civilians, and drafting child soldiers and mineral workers by force, causing continuous international dispute.

漢達精密 MiTAC Precision Technology Corp.
永續發展 > 衝突礦產
碳足跡 衝突礦產 社會責任 研發能力
MPT的永續發展有哪些單元?回收再生、綠色材料…  

MPT一直以來尊重國際人權,不斷實踐世界公民的理念,為了因應2010年7月美國總統歐巴馬簽署了第4173號法案(H.R. 4173)「華爾街改革與消費者保護法」(Dodd-Frank Act)*,MPT特別聲明禁止使用「衝突礦產」(Conflict minerals)*

MPT聲明
1.雖然MPT並沒有直接採購金屬原料的行為,但我們還是強烈表示不支持、不使用來自非洲剛果民主共和國(DRC)及其鄰近國家受武裝衝突、非法開採與低劣工作環境中礦區所開採鈷(Co)、錫(Sn)、鈀(Pd)、鉭(Ta)、鎢(W)、金(Au)等金屬礦產。
2.為避免產品原料與生產過程中會使用到非法採礦之金屬,MPT要求供應商拒絕使用來自衝突區域的「衝突礦產」,並確認其礦源,同時要求供應商應將此要求傳達給其上游供應商,一起善盡企業公民的責任。

*註1:「華爾街改革與消費者保護法」(Dodd-Frank Act),該法案其中一項條文要求證券交易委員會規定從事有關衝突礦物貿易或使用的人士,必須確切追蹤礦石來源,包括鈮鉭鐵礦(Coltan)、錫石(Cassiterite)、金(Gold)及鎢錳鐵礦(Wolframite)。
*註2:「衝突礦產」-部份金屬礦產已成為非洲剛果民主共和國及其鄰近國家武裝叛亂團體的主要財源,用來交易軍火、延續其與政府間的血腥衝突、蹂躪當地平民、強徵孩童充當娃娃兵與礦工,因此引發國際爭議不斷。